Every year, the geeks here at Theta join with some friends to celebrate our favorite holiday – CLV Day – on May 15.
Why May 15?
May 15 = 15 May = 15/5 = 155 = CLV in Roman numerals. (We did say we were geeks).
Unlike holidays that cost you money, CLV Day is all about understanding Customer Lifetime Value so you can make MORE money. So this past Sunday, we marked the occasion by sharing some “Thetaisms” and “15 Ancient Wisdoms” about CLV and Customer Centricity. Check out the recap below:
This year, in honor of our favorite day, #CLVDay, we thought we would share with you 15 “Ancient Wisdoms” about #CLV and #CustomerCentricity. #Thetaisms if you will. 😉— Theta (@ThetaCLV) May 15, 2022
Stay tuned throughout today; you don’t want to miss this! pic.twitter.com/E7y9b9nJaN
#TheMoreYouKnow— Theta (@ThetaCLV) May 15, 2022
Remember, #CLV is a marginal #profit measure. It’s not a revenue measure, nor is it an overall profit measure.#CLVDay #15AncientWisdoms #Thetaisms #TheOffice #OfficeMemes pic.twitter.com/xmrD9SY0N0
Thank you to everyone who joined us today for the fun! Be sure to follow us @ThetaCLV and check out our website https://t.co/sSakOCdEno next week for a recap of today’s #Thetaisms.#CLVDay #15AncientWisdoms pic.twitter.com/mdXGxJvzcX— Theta (@ThetaCLV) May 15, 2022